Searching for Sugarman.

I watched this documentary last night. It was excellent, I highly recommend it.

I think every South African over 20 in the middle classy-type range knows Rodriguez’s music, even if they don’t know his name. But even if you have never heard of him or his music, this is a great true story.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alicat
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 14:47:45

    I saw him perform in Durban in the mid 90’s, and was totally blown away by his performance, and his humble stage presence. His words to the crowd were ‘thank you for keeping me alive’. Definitely one of the defining moments in my life, sounds trite I know, but he was brilliant. We were all totally transfixed by him.

    Reply

  2. Po
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 09:45:45

    Wow, I can’t believe you saw him! I think I probably thought he was dead. I didn’t realise he even came here, but I was in Matric at the time, it must have been beyond my radar. They showed footage of the live shows in the documentary, and he said just that about keeping him alive, it was incredible!

    Reply

  3. Alicat
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 13:27:12

    I posted this on my FB page and started a bit of a trend of everyone clamouring to see this documentary, from SA to Vancouver! I’m so glad I saw your post, I didn’t know anything about this documentary.

    Reply

  4. Po
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 13:44:34

    That’s so cool Alicat, I posted this on FB too and no one said a word – you have cool friends! I am staying right across the road from Mabu Vinyl right now, the record shop of the South African guy in the doc who calls himself the Sugar man. I am tempted to go in and say I liked the documentary, but am a bit shy.

    Reply

  5. Alicat
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 22:39:44

    My oh my, what have you started?! My friend (ex SA) who lives down in Somerset rang me last night to say that Rodriguez is playing at Colston Hall in Bristol on 1 December, should we go? Let’s just say that 11.30 last night we were booking tickets and hotels, and will all be meeting up in Bristol for said concert! There might be a few others tagging along as well. Such a simple post on your blog has instigated a proper adults’ weekend away to see Rodriguez – kids all safely farmed out! What a star you are! Thank you :) We’ve also just decided to go back to SA for 3 weeks next year as a surprise visit for family. We’re just letting my sister in law in on it so she can pick us up from the airport. My family are all in CT so we’ll be going Joburg then down to CT. Not been back for 13 years, but only now starting to get that ache in my heart. I miss my family, and I miss my Cape Town. Glad you’re setting in OK. Thanks again! Alison xx

    Reply

  6. Alicat
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 22:41:28

    And by the way, you MUST go into Mabu VInyl and say how you liked the documentary, things like that mean so much to people, even if you think you’re a dork doing it! Let me know what he says :)

    Reply

  7. Po
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 10:29:11

    No way, he must be about 70 now, right?! Have fun. Wow, not been back in 13 years, you are going to love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

