My to-do list…

for today went something like this:

 

  • convert British driving licence to South African one (achieved with alarming ease and lack of confusion, contrary to what online forums had me believe. Hoorah! Only 4 hours of queues. I say this with no irony because I was expecting this procedure to take months.)
  • Buy food to cook for dinner
  • pass out in the Pick n’ Pay checkout queue.

All three were achieved. A good day?

I have been having issues with Getting Stuff Done, so I have been trying hard to make lists and be proactive. However, I finished today lying in bed with the BFG bringing me food and water. Getting Stuff Done is clearly too much for me!

I have never ever EVER fainted before. I have suffered from low blood pressure over the years and have come close. Occasionally I have dizzy spells but if I breathe deeply and try to remain calm or sit, or squat, or whatever, it usually passes. But I have never actually keeled over before.

 

Until today. I was fine and then all of a sudden in the queue I was struggling to breathe and seeing stars. I put down my basket. I clutched to the magazine stand. I assumed that with a few deep puffs of breathe I would be fine and it would go away because it has always been so, my whole life, dammit! I have never been lame enough to faint and am very proud of that fact.

 

I woke up on the floor apparently after 30 seconds, after bumping my head and elbow on a trolley. So many sweet people helped me. One person got me a chair, a lady bought me a coke, another kept checking on me, two or three shop staff came and chatted to me, and when I finally got the strength to check out my shopping, another family gave me a lift home.

 

Thank you, kind people in Pick n’ Pay. It was a humiliating experience, but I truly needed and appreciated your kindness.

 

I think I know what caused it (hangs head in shame). Basically I OD’d on painkillers. OOPS. Was having period pains but did not have any Ibuprofen. I did however have some Cocodamol which are strong and which were given to me when I had an operation. I have used them for period pain in the past but probably was smart enough to eat something first.

So basically I poisoned myself by having two (too many!) Cocodamol pills on an empty stomach. And passed out in front of hundreds of people. Well done, Po, well done.

My to-do list for tomorrow:

  • stay in bed. It is safer there.

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helen
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 20:01:37

    Well I’ve been in hospital since Sunday and they seem to believe in the healing power of IV panado. Care to send some super-strong stuff my way? These guys swing between panado and morphine, neither of which I particularly appreciate…

    For next time, there is a pink nurofen – basically double strength, for period pain. Works like a charm :)

    Reply

  2. poseamonkey
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 20:04:51

    Nooo Helen, why? What happened? Forget fainting in Pick n’ Pay, being in hospital is not fun!!

    Reply

    • helen
      Jan 08, 2013 @ 20:08:51

      Kind of a new experience for me too, originally diagnosed as infective food poisoning, but now they want to start digging around and pulling out my gall bladder. Mostly just muscle aches and pains from vomiting until they brought me morphine…

      Which is another story entirely!

      Reply

  3. poseamonkey
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 20:10:33

    Noooo that is just horrendous! Vomiting is the pits, I hope they can figure it out, poor Helen. I did not even conceive that you could need morphine from vomiting, yikes!

    Reply

  4. ExMi
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 10:08:21

    Oh Em Gee. How did I miss the fact that YOU’RE BACK in SA?

    Reply

  5. poseamonkey
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 18:19:21

    EXMI!!! Only been back a few months and still trying to do boring admin things like convert my drivers licence and learn how to drive around Cape Town. But I am back!

    Reply

  6. ExMi
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 10:19:00

    I LIKE IT. I LIKE IT A LOT.

    Reply

  7. CJ
    May 15, 2013 @ 10:42:06

    Hi! I’ve been following your blog for ages, discovered it when you were resigning from work to move back to SA and then read the backlog :) You need an update to tell us how SA is going! I’m in the same boat, resigning soon to move back to SA, and i’ve run out of your blogs to read – update! :)

    Reply

    • poseamonkey
      Jun 07, 2013 @ 08:15:03

      Hello CJ, oh my gosh, obviously I never check this blog any more, as you can see, I only got this message now, am so sorry. Wow, good luck to you! I have so much I could write! But have been so overwhelmed these past few months, moving country is a big thing. It is not moving to South Africa specifically, but moving in general. I recently started craving blogging again so I hopefully will soon. I can say that since this is the second time I am moving is is much easier for me to appreciate that there is good and bad about every country and focussing on the bad when you first move to a place is not so useful – of course noticing and commenting on it is fine, but not letting it be a focus is good too. Also because I already lived in CT before, it honestly feels in many ways like I never left. Which is flipping confusing. When I go to the climbing gym I last climbed at 10 years ago, they play the same music they played then and I find myself asking, did I actually leave?

      Reply

      • CJ
        Jun 07, 2013 @ 11:17:11

        Yes you must start writing on here again! I found your blog one day and pretty much read it all in one sitting (or like, 3 sittings ;)you need to update on how SA is going and how you feel about being back, cause now that you’re in SA, my little journey is about to start and would love abit of blogging about how you’re doing after all the drama of actually upping and leaving, that would be awesome. I leave at the end of October, and still have to do the goodbyes and the resigning and the planning and the leaving. I feel weird about it, but like you – the winters are really getting to me, and i don’t think i can do another one. It’s too much, and i’m 31 now – and the older i get the worse they affect. So i am moving back home to see my family alot more (and my sister),as in the uk it’s just me on my own, and it doesn’t make sense really. So very exciting and scary and everything!! How is the job front going and things with the bf … i want to know everything, you have alot of blogging to do ;) haha!x

Leave a Reply

